Skip to content

Email Umbilical

April 25, 2008


I have been friends with Adrienne for nearly five years. In winter, we raise glasses to toast our warm grey track pants. Summers are spent lounging in her yard, clutching liquor bottles and burger buns, and ending the night only once I need to support myself with the fence in order to reach the porch.

Today is Adrienne’s birthday! Last year, this day was also her birthday. Both years, I was declared “In Charge of Cupcakes”. The difference? This year, I know Adrienne’s telephone number!

All those years of being friends with Adrienne, I never realised, until I lost the little scrap of paper with Gabby’s address on it–the location where ladies were patiently awaiting me, and impatiently awaiting the tray of chocolate cakes–we had never spoken on the phone, linked instead by an email umbilical.

So, the cupcakes and me, we stayed home together and posed for photos…delicious!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    April 25, 2008 4:10 pm

    When I lived in Philly, there were people I knew for years and years and only after moving to NYC did I realize that I didn’t know their last name or phone numbers. We just were always inthe same places together. I never emailed then and I hardly do now to keep in touch. I am much more a face-to-face or ink-on-page person.

    Speaking of which , I should write you a letter.

  2. Amanda permalink
    April 26, 2008 7:39 pm

    Gah! Speaking of which…I wrote you a letter weeks ago, lost it awhile in the debris of my tax return scattered all over my desk…found it last week and added a couple pages…and have been carrying it around “on my way to the post office” for about five days.

Leave a Reply

