Skip to content

Birthday Butter Cream

April 27, 2008

This year, I was ready for Adrienne’s birthday–armed with address and phone number, I planned my route from my house to hers, a few blocks away in Parkdale. Then, I packed up the cupcakes and set off for the party with time to spare.

On my way, a convenience store clerk, a trio of boys coasting on skateboards, a Brazilian man in pink golf shirt and zodiac necklace, a taxi driver and a short, chubby little girl each tried to woo me into revealing “what’s in that box”…

…if only they’d known it was double-dark chocolate cupcakes frosted with dulce de leche and fresh butter cream, I expect I’d have reached the party with some bruises to match the blue frosting, and a pair of empty hands.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    April 30, 2008 10:06 am

    Amanda, I have an important, non-blog related question.
    If you were an American gal, headed to Canada for the first (!) time:
    Toronto?
    Quebec City?
    Montreal?
    All three?
    Two of the above?
    NONE of the above???

  2. Amanda permalink
    April 30, 2008 6:43 pm

    Ohhh such an important question! I would suggest you come to Toronto (for instance, if, like, YOU were the American girl in question) because then we can have tea. Plus, I love Toronto in spring and summertime! Quebec City is old and touristy, but also fun. Montreal pissed me off last summer, because the Francophones there realllly hate people from Toronto and my friend I were treated accordingly. But, it is a gorgeous city too…so technically, I would recommend all three.

  3. amy permalink
    May 2, 2008 5:47 pm

    Oh fine! Maybe we will have to do all three then. My husband and I have NEVER BEEN TO CANADA if you can believe that.

  4. Cakespy permalink
    May 16, 2008 1:45 pm

    I could imagine you gathering a pied piper-like entourage walking around with a box like that!! Oh my, do they look wonderful!

  5. Amanda permalink
    May 16, 2008 5:32 pm

    Yes! Just imagine, you could use boxes of cupcakes for crowd control, all sorts of things!

  6. Kevin permalink
    June 16, 2008 6:07 pm

    Chocolate cupcakes with dulce de leche and buttercream sound really good.

  7. Amanda permalink
    June 24, 2008 6:33 pm

    Not only are they good, they are paralysingly delicious….

  8. Lore permalink
    June 28, 2008 2:09 pm

    Oh wow, I’d imagine you being in quite some trouble if you would’ve mentioned the content of the box. Yummy dulce de leche and chocolate!

Leave a Reply

