Skip to content

Crumbs of Lavash

September 29, 2008



Contents of my shoulderbag on the day my nephew arrived:



1. lucky owl necklace.



2. variety of narrative-free books, short story collections, and odd Japanese card games for passing the time. In the end, pacing, chatting and fiddling with my hair proved far more effective during the two-day hospital wait.



3. a rather screwed-up scarf I’ve been teaching myself to knit for about thirteen months.



4. toiletries: toothbrush (forgot the toothpaste), comb, soap and wash cloth in small plastic bag.



5. stuffed bunny, for hugging while “sleeping”, which was really more like positioning myself at a horizontal stretch with a coat for a pillow in the waiting lounge.



6. dirty, sweaty grey t-shirt, shucked in favour of a fresh one, at 2:47 a.m. when I received the call that it was Time Now and I ought to shower and head back to the hospital. Nothing like 36 minutes of sleep to make a girl feel fresh and ready to go. Thank goodness for adrenalin.



7. umbrella, for walk between friend’s house around the corner (where the above-noted 36 minutes of sleep were enjoyed) and the hospital–it poured and poured last night, then stopped just before 3 o’clock. It made the early morning smell like soppy leaves. It was a beautiful dawn for being born!



8. crumbs of lavash, contained in ziplock bag. How handy that this month’s Daring Bakers challenge was a recipe for a highly transportable snack, which although hellishly dry and bland, was perfect with coffee and bourbon at 4 a.m.



9. lipstick with compact mirror anchored to the tube. I thought lip colour might make me look perkier after being awake for 72 hours (less those 36 minutes). Ultimately, I decided it didn’t matter after all, and was happy to hug my fresh new nephew while looking pale as a fish.



10. untouched yet probably delicious chocolate with sour cherries.



11. flowered designer handkerchief, for mopping happy tears.



7 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    September 30, 2008 2:14 am

    Oh, sooo sweet of you!

    Being the oldest is such a drag, my sister is not making any beginnings as of now…

  2. Amanda permalink
    September 30, 2008 8:55 am

    Although I am the oldest, I’ve decided to let my brother become a grown-up first…he can be the proud father, and I will continue to be the directionless, slightly weird kid in the family.

    : )

  3. looka permalink
    October 6, 2008 12:10 am

    I know, I know!
    In the family chronic, under my name it says: “Problem kid, charming one.”

  4. Amanda permalink
    October 6, 2008 9:03 am

    Heh–one day, you might have a niece or nephew too, and then maybe we can make a date to take yours and mine for their first tattoos together, haha. Then we will get our brother/ sister to forgive us by flashing our charming smiles.

  5. looka permalink
    October 6, 2008 11:20 am

    Of course!
    We can then give quality advice of what “bad” fun is the most fun!

  6. Amanda permalink
    October 6, 2008 11:22 am

    I think you have inspired TONIGHT’S new post: what bad things are the most good fun!

  7. looka permalink
    October 7, 2008 1:12 pm

    Hey, really? That’s much good!

    The bad fun things get so much bad press – they are thrown into the “not to be opened, ever!” time capsule for future earth people.

    And the news make them look like only rockstars are fit to do them.
    Eventhough, they don’t know how to hanlde them!

Leave a Reply

