Skip to content

Get it Together, Sister

November 11, 2008


Women are sexiest when seasoned with a dash of imperfection. Untidy around the hemline, a graceful disaster. A lady who refuses to be drawn and quartered by her lack of organisation.

Think Tina Fey’s Liz Lemon, missing laundry day then substituting a one-piece swimsuit in place of underwear. Sure, this will present a problem if an impromptu frenching session turns serious. But, does a woman without time to launder her gitch really have time for encounters like that? No way; she has more pressing things on the go. And a busy woman is a sexy one.

There’s your friend who finds herself a bit drunk midweek, like slipping on a banana peel. Just tipsy enough that come morning, she stares into her wardrobe then skips the complicated outfits. Opts for pants from yesterday. Primps up the t-shirt and rumpled blazer with a string of pearls. Topped with her rosy, slightly hung-over cheeks, she cuts a dashing figure on the streetcar.

Or the one over there, scarfing the slice of dessert her hostess forced into her hands as she left the dinner party. This was me last Saturday, on my doorstep at one a.m. How else could I free a hand to fish keys from my purse? Polishing off the last bite of crust, I swiped my sticky palm across my nice black coat, let myself in, and hopped into bed. I forgot this episode until the next afternoon when my boyfriend picked me up for brunch. As I drew the seatbelt across my lap, we both noticed the shiny streak of apple filling. He asked if the pie was any good, and if he could maybe have a taste from my belly.

If a lady’s messiness earns offers like that, she must be doing something right.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    November 11, 2008 7:46 pm

    Oh wow, making a point!

    You know what kind of a spouse compliment I got today? “When you rub your eye, it sounds like the cat is cleaning his you-know-what.”

  2. Amanda permalink
    November 11, 2008 7:48 pm

    Simon, there is a companion essay to this story, all about why slightly disheveled men are sexy. I am sure Eva knows this, too, and was charmed by your eye-rubbing!

  3. Carrie permalink
    November 12, 2008 6:22 pm

    Aw Simon…

    Yesterday, B said as I was grabbing my keys, “I’m so glad you are leaving.”

    And I’m always messy!

  4. looka permalink
    November 12, 2008 7:33 pm

    Thank you for your uplifting friends gang!

    I’m a bit more disheveled now:
    The cat, he didn’t like the sound comparison and scratched my lid today.

    Carrie… that one is extra good!

Leave a Reply

