Skip to content

A Genteel Pastime

November 23, 2008

Perhaps posts such as this one have presented me and my kin and less than refined. And stories like this, this, and this suggest we failed to grow more civilised with age. However, as my cousin and I clearly demonstrate in this photo, we began life as awfully genteel little people, the sort of children who knew exactly what to do with a croquet ball.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    November 24, 2008 7:56 am

    Amanda, this made me smile. Although I’m afraid you’re serious…

    Besides, your reputation was save in my eyes!

  2. Amanda permalink
    November 24, 2008 9:44 am

    Oh, Simon, never fear…”exactly what to do with a croquet ball” means more like “we knew how to get good leverage when hurling it through a window” than how to actually play the game. And I fondly recall hours spent trying to drive the croquet stakes as deep into the lawn as possible…heh…we were right little bastards, in fact.

  3. looka permalink
    November 24, 2008 10:13 am

    Ah! See, I knew it was all good!

    “…Window.” That brings up the memory of me and another young vigilante putting a wash of mud, complete with small stones, to a farmers new truck window. He was parking in the yard to get some goods, while we where playing in the dirt. We thought that new car could use some patina…

    Of course the grandma found no fun in that and gave me one of my seldom slaps to the kiddy face!

Leave a Reply

