Skip to content

Like the Back of My Hand

November 24, 2008


Yellowed and curled, the photo no longer held the magic that made me stick it up months ago. And so, I removed it from my fridge door, revealing a bossy command:

Come on! Let’s go get weiners!

It’s my handwriting; yet, I don’t remember writing it. Also, I know better than to misspell a simple word like “wieners”. Weiner is a town in Arizona; wiener is something one might eat. There’s more: I don’t think wieners are tasty, and would never organise a special trip to fetch some.

I canvassed a few friends, those most likely present when I shouted for wieners. R. gave it a fifty-fifty chance. “But please,” she urged, “if you figure out I was there, let me know!” H. confessed that, although she once spray-painted gold monkeys on her fence after too much bourbon, she’s never been drunk enough to crave a frankfurter. J. laughed and laughed, repeating “ha ha wieners!” each time she recovered, setting off another round of giggles. D. shrugged: if he was there, he’d probably just carried on pouring martinis.

This false enthusiasm for hotdogs is creepy, but most of all, it’s disturbing to forget something done by my own hand.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    November 25, 2008 4:45 am

    I have a false enhutasmism too!

    But I can’t outrun the weinie-Wieners. They live everywhere around me!

  2. Amanda permalink
    November 25, 2008 9:56 am

    Surrounded by wieners?! Terrifying! Whatever you do, be sure to avoid making eye-contact.

  3. looka permalink
    November 25, 2008 3:11 pm

    Never. They take it as a personal offense.

Trackbacks

  1. I Need a Decoder Ring « Well Tailored Cakes and Neckties

Leave a Reply

