Skip to content

Unicorns in Full Effect

December 16, 2008


I haven’t seen daylight in weeks. It is dark when I leave for the office each morning; the sun has set by the time I board the streetcar for home. Not because I work dreadful overtime–because this is Ontario, and in Ontario, the winter is grey, grey, grey, and dark, dark, dark. And, the shortest day has yet to pass.

Part of me dreams of living in Sweden, Iceland or some other northerly remote. A place where darkness becomes a way of winter life, rather than a sky that descends and lifts a little too early and a little too late, without real drama or extreme. I wonder if sunset at 2 p.m. would make the season seem mysterious; the long, bright summers repaying citizens for surviving all that blackness.

But another part of me just builds my Ontario habits into an anecdote, a story that makes my dwindling public appearances seem cute and twee. Once my apartment swallows me in the evening, that is that–no changing into eveningwear and heading back out on the town. No meeting for drinks blocks and blocks away, hailing a frosty taxi at the end of the night.

Once I am home, I am home till morning. Spotting me out on a winter weeknight is like glimpsing a unicorn as she sips from a forest brook. Would you believe there are two unicorns in my neck of the woods? Rachel, living right around the corner, becomes as rare as I do–even more special than seeing one of us are those rare, rare evenings when we travel in a herd of two.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    December 17, 2008 6:22 am

    Heart tracks, iced!

  2. Amanda permalink
    December 17, 2008 10:11 am

    Of course unicorns’ hooves leave hearts in the snow! Would you expect anything less?

    ; )

  3. looka permalink
    December 17, 2008 11:41 am

    No, no, I just didn’t remember!

  4. Amanda permalink
    December 17, 2008 11:42 am

    Well, one sees a unicorn so rarely, these things are easy to forget.

  5. Carrie permalink
    December 17, 2008 2:37 pm

    I haven’t ever seen one. I think they are scared of drunken tourists.

    Perhaps Toronto’s weather solves that problem?

    Maybe I can grow one in my backyard.

  6. Amanda permalink
    December 17, 2008 3:04 pm

    Miss C: I think most seed catalogues do carry “unicorns”. Your summer garden was so pretty, it would be worth attempting to sprout something like this for winter!

    : )

Leave a Reply

