Skip to content

Heartbreak Top 30

December 29, 2008

Last Time:

1. snuggling between the sheets
2. waking in the morning and stroking shoulders
3. drinking orange juice from your stripey glass
4. using my key to lock your door
5. walking home to my house the next morning
6. tucking my fingers around your arm while we stroll
7. watching you bend to fetch things from “your” cupboard at my house
8. seeing your hectic bedhead as you descend my stairs
9. admiring your copper-plated car keys
10. whispering against your cheek

First Time:

1. rebuilding in the dark days of winter
2. spending the holidays alone
3. knowing no one but me has keys to my home
4. wearing the shirt you say makes me extra-pretty, but this time no one is looking
5. not texting you “sweet dreams”
6. making that recipe alone
7. making that recipe for someone else
8. asking for help
9. being single since 1991
10. listening to the iPod you loaded for me

Never After All:

1. visit Chicago in the spring
2. meet in Sicily in July
3. hide for a month at the cabin in autumn
4. share pastries in Paris
5. put up next summer’s vegetables for the long winter that follows
6. teach you to ice skate
7. let me share the driving once I earn my licence
8. braise short-ribs and watch football, and lounge in trackpants this winter
9. share that bottle of port
10. help me find the perfect kitten
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Pants and Tie permalink
    December 30, 2008 11:18 am

    girl… 😦

  2. Carrie permalink
    December 30, 2008 5:12 pm

    I’m sorry, lady.
    Thinking of you.

  3. Becca permalink
    February 4, 2009 2:54 pm

    I think the “Never after all” category was the hardest for me to deal with. I kept saying to him, “But we made so many plans…” Funny how quickly those plans can change.

  4. Amanda permalink
    February 4, 2009 3:01 pm

    For me, the “never after all” was like an insurance policy that things wouldn’t end, at least not yet…not till the list was accomplished, and there were still so many things on it…we’dsurely stick it out another six or ten or thirty years.

    Bleh.

Trackbacks

  1. Unicorn Hunting Season « Well Tailored Cakes and Neckties

Leave a Reply

