Skip to content

Just Say No

February 24, 2009

Now and then, it is good to say “no”.

To snacks and sweets, all-night boozing and daily red wine. To beef and fried chicken. To skipping the gym, taking the car, riding the elevator instead of climbing the stairs.

Sometimes, it’s good to decline a second helping; bad to do whatever the fuck you want.

Sometimes, it’s good to set yourself a curfew, and stick to it. Good to boss yourself around, lay down stern ground rules and abide by them…at least for awhile.

It’s good to tell yourself “no”, despite what your heart, your head or your belly wants. Because your heart, head and belly are a heavy metal band–they want it all, and they want it now.

My dad told me burnt toast puts hair on your chest. Restraint does this too. I don’t think I want any short curlies, but I wouldn’t mind a little toughness. The “no” makes you a better person, reminds you that it’s not all about you, about pleasure, about getting this or that. Sometimes, it’s about curbing your appetite for everything under the sun.

Today, I am cutting myself off from my worst habit of all:

I like to tell myself I’m a half-size too small. That I lived in someone’s shadow, that I could never be that tall. Today, I am saying “for fuck’s sake, that’s enough!” to believing I’m a tiny creature who measures her character against another and comes up short.

And…I am not going to slip back down the slope to indulgence when Lent wraps up in April. This time, I am sticking with “no”.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    February 25, 2009 8:58 pm

    Chiggers! You’re a giant!

  2. Amanda permalink
    February 25, 2009 9:20 pm

    A giant? What sort? A cyclops? Maybe an ogre? Do I get to have hair all over like a sasquatch?

    : )

  3. looka permalink
    March 2, 2009 4:04 am

    Of these? Hmmm…

    I’m just reading norse myth stories. There are some pretty great giantesses’ in there and they are descibed to be very ladylike looking still, though they have supermagic powers!

    Would that be an option?

  4. Amanda permalink
    March 2, 2009 10:02 am

    Hey–Simon! You could draw me as a monster that helps battle the squirrels in your fabulous new squirrel adventure comic! I would be very brave indeed.

  5. looka permalink
    March 2, 2009 1:02 pm

    O.K.!

    I will try and figure out how to make a monster of you.

    Gonna be hard.

    “descibed” ??? …oh no…

  6. Carrie permalink
    March 2, 2009 4:12 pm

    Saying no is a very, very good skill. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

