Skip to content

Good Eggs: Quarterly Update

March 24, 2009


In January, a good friend declared 2009 the Year of the Good Egg. With the first quarter behind us and a new season just arrived, let’s check in on the state of the eggs in my life:

1. Birdie: my kitten moved in mid-January, and although there have been some schedule conflicts (she prefers to spend the hours from midnight till sunrise batting at my eyes and nipping my fingertips, whereas I am more the “night sleeper” type) and growing pains (there was a swift and merciless slaughter of all plant life while she claim-jumped my shelves, ledges and tabletops), I know Birdie is a good egg at heart.

2. Coop: my nephew is three days younger than my kitten, and for their first few months, they developed neck and neck. They discovered things together (licking, meowing/ mumbling, grabbing/ scratching) and struggled similarly with issues concerning sleep (sleeping through the night or not, being picked up and mauled each time they tried to take a nap, being scolded for yowling when the bigger people were trying to get some rest). They both love to swim in the bathtub, and both are fond of avocado and spoons. Recently, Birdie pulled ahead and as they approach six months this week I think she might be more skilled at pouncing, but Cooper is taller and chunkier, and I think he pays better attention when you call his name. Good egg.

3. My good friend Joel: in October, he married the love of his life, and after the ceremony, shared his “three lists” with the assembled guests. Apparently his mother recommended he compile these when he felt lovelorn and confused and unclear which direction to take. Basically, you write down all the things your life partner MUST have, the things you HOPE he or she has, and the things it would NICE but not essential to find in this person. Recently, as I floundered to make sense of a trashed relationship that I once believed was a “forever” kind of thing, Joel reminded me of his lists, and his mother’s second piece of advice: write down anything you want, but make sure you know which thing goes in which column. Joel? Also a good egg.

4. The ladies: the ladies who have listened and offered advice (or offered nothing but a quiet space and a glass of wine and a sympathetic ear), cooked me dinner to fatten me back up, forced me out of my blanket-cape and trackpants uniform, taken me for cocktails, coached me to (disastrously) ask out that bartender, taken walks in the park even though it’s winter, and listened to me rant about endless, heartbreaking crap? They are numerous enough to fill a whole carton. They, too, are good eggs.

5. A friend who shall remain nameless, because I know that’s what he’d prefer: he hijacked my Saturday afternoon to show me three of his favourite waterfalls, insisting the day was too sunny, my smile was too lovely, and the air was too fresh to waste indoors working. Definitely a good egg.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    March 25, 2009 11:15 am

    Good to see that the fridge is laden with good eggs!

  2. Amanda permalink
    March 25, 2009 11:18 am

    Yeah, maybe it’s like a more favourable adaptation of the fairy tale where the goose lays the golden eggs…only rather than being all mean and greedy about my golden eggs, I will share and we can all have omelettes and other delicious things.

  3. Carrie permalink
    March 25, 2009 3:49 pm

    I really like this idea. I might have to steal it at a later date.

    Your friends give such good advice couched in such nice words.

    Lucky, lucky!

  4. Amanda permalink
    March 25, 2009 3:53 pm

    I haven’t started the three lists yet, but am absolutely going to give them a try!

Leave a Reply

