Skip to content

Haunted

March 30, 2009


A friend believes he’s being haunted. He doesn’t think this ghost has his best interests in mind. Or, maybe it does; yet, it presents itself as a menacing force, and has two, perhaps three, claws.

I suggest he is being haunted by himself, his own desires, inner conflicts, internal wrestling matches that pit two parts of his character against each other. He disagrees.

Perhaps, then, it’s my kitten (who loves to bite his hands each time he pays her a visit) calling to him from across town, beckoning him via spooky dreams to come over, come over, for a session of kitten nips and scratches?

No, he doesn’t think that sounds quite right. He describes its presence as bad news, definitely not sweet, furry or mischievous. I agree: it’s not my little Birdie. She’s a bit of a bad ass, but hasn’t got an ounce of “mean” in her tiny body.

I run through a few other possibilities, ticking off common ghosts on my fingers: dead relative; person from his past; unresolved issues; leftover ick from a situation he dealt with last week? No, nope, none of those.

Hmmm…this is a tough ghost to crack.

I don’t think I have been personally haunted, although I once rented a house that gave my friends the willies, and we were pretty sure the cat saw something more than air each time it stalked “nothing” and trapped it in the corner.

I’ve quickened my pace walking home a few times. Darted up the basement stairs with my back to the wall and an eye on the door at the top. Raised the hair on my arms playing seance at sleepovers in grade seven. But haunting? No, I don’t think so.

Not so far.

One Comment leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    April 2, 2009 1:40 pm

    Ah! I hate ghosts!

    Droopy says to sing out loud to chase them away, because they hate that. It worked for me…

Leave a Reply

