Skip to content

Thrown Back

May 9, 2009


I recently posted this photo and as I composed a quick blurb to accompany it, it occurred to me: I have nearly identical sneakers, jeans, windbreaker hanging in my closet. Today. Right now. Twenty-five years later.

I wear these things often, and Toronto streets swarm with “old kids” who look much the same. Downtown cycling lanes are clogged with retro 10-speeds and guys with low-slung, rolled-up jeans and quick-looking sneakers. We’re in our mid-30s and here we are, looking like I did when I was edging on thirteen. Bodysuits and unitards. Sweats and bandanas and stupid strappy sandals. Jelly shoes and neckties and all that crap they sell at American Apparel, in lurid shades of snazzy and bright.

This trend, and recycling fashion in general, is nothing new. But, until now, I’ve recycled someone else’s childhood. Now, I’m repeating the styles of my own, and this is weird. Weird because it fixes a point along the timeline like, “once I was here, and now I am here.” And, weird because I think my childhood clothes are cool–then, I was an outrageous dork.

The way “nerdy” morphs into “chic” on its second time around, this is also old news. And yet, it was startling, to look at me way back when…and to think, hang on, I had it all going on!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    May 13, 2009 6:01 am

    Absolutely “going on”! I like that take, it reminds of many things.

    Like all kids that have the slightest choice of running in the green around them, I would pluck weeds and collect sticks while charging along with yelling.

    Then the hormone decade set in and being outside was only the best place to get wasted and land softly.

    That behind in good distance now, I’m back to drawing weeds and sticks and all kinds of “sensless” big kid stuff. And yes, it feels way better being dressing like a big kid, than alinging to teenage trends until I’m 70.

    Good look!

  2. Amanda permalink
    May 13, 2009 11:17 am

    Grass evolving from something to run and play on, to something to get drunk and fall down on…very funny!

Leave a Reply

