Skip to content

Still Need Some Learnin’

June 8, 2009


You might think that after not one, not two, but three gaffes in one week, I would be back on my game, proofreading and double-checking and avoiding further errors. Yes, you might think that, but you would be wrong.

My mother is spending the weekend with me, and we’ve jammed three days with a staggering volume of lady stuff. I figured my dad might like to get in on the fun, and so this evening, I sent him the following email:

“Dear Dad,

This weekend, as you know, is Girl Weekend, and mom and I will be lunching, shopping, chatting, giggling and generally behaving badly. By Sunday, I’m sure we’ll need the stabilizing influence of some gays, and with that in mind, we’d like you to join us downtown for brunch.

See you then,
Love A.”

GUYS! I mean guys. Jesus.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    June 9, 2009 7:49 am

    Your dad would understand, I guess.

    It seems my rushed writing bug has jumped to your keyboard!

  2. looka permalink
    June 9, 2009 7:51 am

    Also I am now wondering where to get such sign modding. That would make it easier for me to follow directions!

  3. Amanda permalink
    June 9, 2009 8:51 am

    Yes, if all crossing signals included things like wrestlers, we would have a much clearer idea about how we're supposed to conduct ourselves at intersections!

    There are others–a mermaid, for instance–which I photographed in New York about four years ago. The wrestler was at Coney Island, and the mermaid was in the Lower East Side…

  4. Shivs permalink
    June 9, 2009 9:49 am

    This takes me back to our conversation about spelling our names wrong at the end of emails. Embarassing? Yes.

    Siobhane

    (just for you)

  5. Amanda permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:19 am

    Oh, Siobhane, let's not forget Gdan and Gleo and Glowell!

  6. Carrie permalink
    June 9, 2009 3:40 pm

    I find gays to be very stabilizing, especially during brunch.

  7. Amanda permalink
    June 9, 2009 3:42 pm

    So true.

Leave a Reply

