Skip to content

Three Steps Backward

July 13, 2009

Now and then, it seems we could all benefit from making our way through our days a little more slowly. Jettisoning the inventions, contraptions and innovations that enable our tendency to speed, we could quell the rush and catch our breath.

For instance:

The dipping bird-operated key board. “Hang on, I’m typing the memo as quickly as I can. D…(dip)…e…(dip)…a…(dip)…r…(dip)…space (dip) space…S…(dip)…i…(dip)…r…”

So much time wasted when your cordless phone rings, bringbring, bringbring uselessly bleating from the empty dock, handset smothered between cushions or buried in the socks. Anchor the device where it belongs–on the wall like an intercom. Angle your head to alternately listen then shout into the little cream-coloured handset.

Short-hand. Aside from driving a car, this skill is the one I covet most. I have the A-line skirt, the low heels, the scarf at my throat, the twist in my hair, the pencil tucked behind one ear. But, I have yet to master the Pitman method, and so my secretary charade falls apart.

Last Friday, I watched three boys beat-boxing on the subway. One boy did a bit the other two really liked, and they demanded he repeat it. “Hang on,” he said, scrolling in the air with an index finger and bobbing his head. “I have to rewind.”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. looka permalink
    July 14, 2009 7:26 am

    I'd love that!
    I buy your slow-mo franchise for my business, can I pay with fun times as reward?
    Thing is, you would have to come over to convert that check…

  2. Amanda permalink
    July 14, 2009 8:41 am

    Ohhh Simon, that is another excellent "invention"…currency conversion only being conducted in the country where the money came from in the first place. A fantastic excuse for me to come to Austria!

  3. looka permalink
    July 14, 2009 9:41 am

    Oh yes! This check doesn't have a expiration date, and no loss of value, so you have time!

    I'm thinking of someone whom I also own some stuff to, AND for that they have punished me with not coming to visit when they were around the neighborhood, ahem, Europe! Outrageous!

    HAHAha, no, certain person sure to read this, I'm just joking and you know it!

  4. Carrie permalink
    July 14, 2009 7:01 pm

    Was somebody talking about me?

    I'm sorry, I was too busy writing my grocery list with matchstick ash.

  5. Amanda permalink
    July 16, 2009 8:27 am

    Oh, Carrie, if you had a set of cups tied together with a length of string, you could listen more closely (through the walls, of course) and catch every word Simon is saying!

  6. looka permalink
    July 17, 2009 7:39 pm

    Hey cool! That's right what I'm drawing with!!

    Let's get it on: I have a big can from the stew-making I believe. Ready to go!

  7. Amanda permalink
    July 18, 2009 11:04 am

    Stew-can telephone…nice one.

Leave a Reply

