Skip to content

Day Two – You Must Be Lonely

August 12, 2009


Up at 7:00 without a clock to rouse me–I only learn the time when I hit the kitchen post-shower for breakfast. I meet a spider next to the toilet, see the shadow of another artist retreating around the bend, and share granola with a poet who checked in the same afternoon as I did.

Otherwise, it’s me, my pen and stack of paper (I’ve decided to tackle this venture long-hand, no typing, no screens, no email, no proof-reading, no backtracking, no second guessing)…and…yeah…

I have freckles from the sunshine, but no tan yet; sand between my toes, but no calluses on my soles; a few short-short stories but nothing to write home about (yes, that is a dreadful pun), and a 9 p.m. bedtime that makes me feel like I am six.

Later, I describe the day to a friend, who suggests I must have been lonely. Really? Not at all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

