Skip to content

45/ 43/ 36/ 60/ 37/ 62

August 19, 2009


There were a lot of birthdays the past couple weeks, and although I couldn’t bake for every one of them, here are the stand-out stars:

A cupcake packed in its own little traveller, which nearly but not quite survived the ride to A.’s backyard.

And, the pair of tarts I fixed for my mother’s birthday–pâte brisée with fresh custard cream and Ontario berries. The crust didn’t even shatter when I slid the pans away and portioned the tarts into eight.

The month isn’t over yet, and more birthdays lie ahead, along with a handful throughout September. Canada’s inhospitable winters are surely at the root of this seasonal population boom.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg-han permalink
    August 20, 2009 2:22 pm

    As an August birthday myself, I have just one question: 1) Where do I find a cupcake carrier? 🙂

    New England winters are incredibly inhospitable…and yet, I was the only August birthday I knew of growing up. Apparently, my parents were the only ones who stayed indoors. Cheeky. 😉

  2. Amanda permalink
    August 20, 2009 2:31 pm

    Cupcake transporters come from…shhhh…Williams-Sonoma. I know, I know, that place is highway robbery of the worst kind! But come on–cupcake carriers! Sometimes, a lady needs to break her own rules and shop where the goods can be found.

Leave a Reply

