Skip to content

Dear Melissa:

October 22, 2009

IMG_2214

Dear Melissa:

Please come to my house for brunch on Saturday, November 7, 2009. I will make you an awesome brunch including many of the things depicted in the photo, above. Except with the bits you can’t eat taken out, and other delicious things added in their place. Also, all that cherry jam is gone, but I made a fresh batch this summer and I think it’s probably six times more tasty. The label is missing from the jar, but once you remove the lid, you’ll know what’s what.

Perhaps, we will drink a mimosa or two. But not three. That would be crazy, we’d be all plastered and sleepy, and nothing else would get done all day, aside from a nap and some supplementary yawning, which we would do in order to declare our drunken sleepiness to those around us and thereby excuse our lax behaviour.

You know how to get to my place – pretty much go out your front door and turn left. It’ll be nicer if you stay on your side of our street till you reach the intersection just south of my house, since the sun rarely shines on my side because of all the massive trees. Of course, if fall progresses at a rapid pace, the branches might be bare by the time November 7th arrives, in which case, feel free to cross over to the east sidewalk at your leisure.

I look forward to seeing you then. In the meantime, I will continue to wave when we pass each other on bikes, and will keep things brief if we meet up in the mornings and it looks like probably we both have someplace to be in a hurry.

R.S.V.P.

PS: the lemon was a mistake (see photo). I squeezed it into the glass of water because that sort of thing is good for the digestion, but really, it conflicted with the honey and buttery scones, and made my tongue feel puckered. I promise, there will be no lemon-sucking when you come over. None at all.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kurt permalink
    October 22, 2009 9:58 pm

    If I wear a wig can I pass for Melissa and crash this brunch?

    I’ll bring some strong Corsican honey and extra mimosa mix if it helps my case.

    • welltailored permalink*
      October 22, 2009 10:12 pm

      Dude, you are in. Don’t forget the honey, honey!

  2. October 23, 2009 12:22 am

    I wish you could write a letter like this to me and actually have it come true!

    I am a fan of lemon in my water, but it is really beast on its own after a long walk.

  3. October 23, 2009 12:25 am

    best, not beast!

    Beast is when you decide on lemon water and sheeps’ yogurt and they are both ruined!

  4. November 5, 2009 4:50 pm

    Beast happens…

    • welltailored permalink*
      November 5, 2009 4:51 pm

      I am sooooo saying that from now on.

      Beast happens, man. Beast happens.

Leave a Reply

