Skip to content

Polaroid!

November 3, 2009

This video is catchy and kitschy and cute, but at first I didn’t love it. That is, until the Polaroid camera makes it appearance, the very same one I had when I was small, black and white with a rainbow racing strip zipping down the middle and disappearing into the photo slot. Then, I was smitten!

Plus, I sometimes like to imagine what sort of dude I’d be if I were a guy, and I suspect I’d be much like this one. Probably not quite that twee, but nearly, and definitely on par in the sissy department. Do you ever do that? Imagine yourself as a guy, a lady, a person from a particular era, a really old man, a teacher, a mechanic, a police officer? Like, if you were that guy/ lady/ era/ age/ career, how would the you you know you are now map onto that other thing?

Maybe it’s just me…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 1:09 am

    I think about this all the time. I’d like to talk to you on the phone about it sometime.

    • welltailored permalink*
      November 5, 2009 9:52 am

      Ladyfriend, you got my number, give it a ring! We can move on from last winter’s letter-writing to this winter’s after-school telephone dates.

  2. November 5, 2009 4:33 pm

    Dude, I totally do that!
    I saw my ladyself for the first time yesters in the tram – she was looking swell and had whacky style. Character too.

    AaaaND I sure have my sissy moments, like every day. Today it’s like, “I miiiiiiiiiiiiiiss the CAKES AND NECKTIES, I HATE MY JOB for not letting me hang out here more often!”

    CARRIE: Please don’t kick my butt for complaining like, all of the time…

  3. November 5, 2009 4:35 pm

    AND: WORD! – COZ the cakes and neckties is dope!

    • welltailored permalink*
      November 5, 2009 4:35 pm

      yes yes y’all!

  4. November 6, 2009 12:54 pm

    I’ve always felt that, were I a disney character, I’d be Merlin though, god knows I’d prefer to be Shir Khan.

    • welltailored permalink*
      November 6, 2009 12:55 pm

      That snake scared the heck out of me when I was small! Like the Phantom on the Muppet Show. (and of course, I watched the bits featuring those characters, over and over and over again…)

      • welltailored permalink*
        November 6, 2009 12:56 pm

        Tiger! I meant Tiger, not snake. Duh. I was thinking of how funny the Jungle Book snake is, while typing about Shir Khan…oops.

Leave a Reply

