Skip to content

Practical Applications of a Time Machine

November 19, 2009

Today, I suggested that my boss is a time-waster. I suggested that henceforth, his reports contain information of the helpful rather than useless variety. I suggested that if he cannot learn to use spreadsheets for good instead of evil, then perhaps a member of the IT department might be dispatched to his workstation to uninstall Excel.

Furthermore, after days of resistance, I took the bait and began to participate in his yellow Post-it note war, sending files on a circuit between our offices, bearing cordial questions that really kinda sorta probably question not just his own Post-it instructions but also his authority.

Happy Hour cannot arrive soon enough. This is where a time machine would be helpful, with respect to both my peace of mind and job security.

Ordinarily, I am such a nice lady…but today…oh dear…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2009 6:45 pm

    In my job, there is no office. Our department is nine people who all communicate through blackberries and, essentialy, work independanty. You’d think it would be nicer and, actually, it probably, generally is. Except that our boss is just not a friendly emailer. He has no sense of diplomacy. He doesn’t know how to pat one on the back in text form, so everything he writes sounds curt and, with little to no actual face time, we all resent him for it.

    I’d kill for a post-it note some days.

    • welltailored permalink*
      November 20, 2009 7:22 pm

      Email, instant messaging and so on are sooo perfect for passive aggressive workplace interactions, aren’t they? Where I work, the ladies shit-talk one another in the kitchen and then smile at everyone like things are fine. The really nasty stuff always goes down via email.

      Last night, a friend and I were sipping martinis and wearing neckties and talking about the evolution of the typing pool and so on…general officey things…and my friend suggested that Post-its were the first step along the path to Twitter.

  2. November 22, 2009 7:13 pm

    Might I suggest that you are wasting your time sending him ANY notes or emails. My condolences and admiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

