Skip to content

Keep an Eye Out for Doughnuts

November 22, 2009

It’s only November, but if you want to drink this treat on New Year’s Eve, today is your last chance to get a batch started! It sounds like a lovely, crisp aperitif, and it tops the menu for December 31st at my house. In preparation for the dinner we’re cohosting, this afternoon A. and I will throw together a beverage that will hopefully become delicious through forty days of tending, mixing, taste-testing and jar-inverting. The recipe sounds straightforward, but I’ve never made something like grapefruit wine (or any sort of hooch) and a tiny voice in my head is muttering, “Dang, I hope we don’t find ourselves bottling off ten litres of pure heck come the end of December!”

This morning, my search for five-litre glass jars with sealable lids led me to a monstrous, multi-level housewares department store where rice snuggles against vacuum cleaners, and an entire floor is inexplicably devoted to bundle-buggies, spaghetti sauce, mousetraps and candles. I mean, in one area all together. I asked a clerk where I might find canning supplies, and was directed to the second floor. “Go back the way you just came, and keep walking until you see the grocery section. Keep going through groceries but keep an eye out for doughnuts. Once you see doughnuts, you need to turn right and take the stairs. Jars are up there.”

You’re got to love directions where rings of powdered sugar are the most important landmark.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 9:25 am

    Sounds like nice booze!

    Those warehouse dudes know how to make the association that leads you to buy stuff: Rice against vacuum cleaners – those two are to meet at some point in any kitchen.

    Jars and Doughnuts, both round and both with, um, air in the middle – they have their logic! Very abstract symbolism, but it seems I would find myself finding stuff at this shop, ha?

    • welltailored permalink*
      November 23, 2009 9:27 am

      “both round and with air in the middle”…best convergence EVER!

  2. November 23, 2009 2:04 pm

    A friend of mine at work does something similar in the summer — rhubarb vodka. I can’t remember the measurements, but the idea is similar. Vodka in jars with rhubarb and sugar for six weeks, with regular shaking. Next spring I’ll see if I can get my act together early so I can enjoy rhubarb vodka tonics by mid-July.

    • welltailored permalink*
      November 23, 2009 2:06 pm

      Rhubarb is also so f*cking mean, it deserves to hang out in a jar of vodka…something with an even tougher bite than the rhubarb has.

Leave a Reply

