Skip to content

Three Things About Offices

May 19, 2010

It disgusts me that the office ladies cook up bags of microwave popcorn so early in the morning that my breakfast has barely touched down in my gut. It therefore delights me to seek revenge via admittedly sexy but also very, very smelly lunches, like this one: pan-fried scallops in sage and browned butter, fiddleheads and rosemary-roasted potatoes in pungent olive oil. Or, as it smelled in the lunchroom that day: a shipyard, a buncha farts and something rotten and brown.

For further musings on how I have felt about the various offices where I’ve passed the past fifteen years of my worklife, please check out my latest story at The Nervous Breakdown.

(Aside, to my boss, who I know reads this blog: no, I am not talking about “our” office! Although yes, it is the one I stink up with fish and braised greens, heh heh…)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. me. permalink
    May 19, 2010 11:38 pm

    don’t get me started about popcorn

    • welltailored permalink*
      May 20, 2010 8:56 am

      Of course, you are hostile toward all snackfoods, not simply popcorn. But of them all, microwave popcorn is surely the most heinous.

  2. Kim permalink
    May 26, 2010 1:04 pm

    OMG. I want your lunch. And now you’ve got me thinking that I should do a blog entry on what passes for lunch in my office.

    You would be appalled.

    • welltailored permalink*
      May 26, 2010 2:03 pm

      I vote we observe (or recall what we have already witnessed) and have a grossification off. See whose office ladies eat worst!

Trackbacks

  1. Day-Maker « Well Tailored Cakes and Neckties

Leave a Reply

