Skip to content

Reading Up

June 8, 2010

Shortly, my blog will welcome its 10,000th reader (or, at any rate, it’s 10,000th read). For months, I’ve been addicted to the little graph that tracks how many hits a particular story receives and tots up how many times my page has been visited altogether. One day, I was first astonished (hooray!) then skeptical (hmmm, spambots?) when 826 people read what I’d written. Another day, I was a bit disappointed that I’d thrown my all behind a post and it languished for ages without a single view.

As summer settles in for the next few months, I can’t say I relish sitting at a computer typing out twee little stories for people to maybe perhaps read between trips to the beach, the cottage, the park, the patio, the pool. Likewise, I’ve already fallen behind on my daily reads. I can’t remember the last time I checked my three favourite sites. But, dang, I have a nice tan! And, I have some stunning fruit preserves lined up in my pantry (the ones in the photograph are last season’s fare). Heh…a lady’s work is never done, what with the writing and the canning and the looking good in summertime!

Sigh…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 5:55 pm

    Do not stop. People are reading.
    Seriously!

  2. June 9, 2010 2:12 am

    Oh, I know that feeling! But you’re doing great here!
    I think part of the Blogging thing is, that it fools us into being active in our creative feats ‘spite other activity. After some time you might not be the new star on the Gawker network (like me, hjuk, hjuk), but you have done a considerable amount of writing, drawing, making things you can look back at. Next to the ever important summer activities, of course! 😀

  3. June 11, 2010 12:13 pm

    I, too, have fallen into the analytics trap. For me it’s not so pretty since I’ve all but stopped posting on other sites as well as my own. Sigh.

    This summer is about writing for me, but the projects I am working on are non-blogular.

Leave a Reply

