Skip to content

Today, Sunday

August 8, 2010

Left to right:

1. changed a lightbulb, by touch, in the dark

2. wedding cake from the couple upstairs, who married last night

3. cherry tomatoes grown by R., resting patiently on my kitchen counter while they achieve “perfectly ripe”

4. paper wrappers from the last two truffles (olive oil with bitter chocolate crumbs, and black sesame with salted caramel filling), on a little ceramic plate crowning an empty wine glass, which formerly contained ice-cold chablis

5. shopping list for next week’s cottage get-away, and my new favourite cookbook, from Frankies in Brooklyn

6. olive oil cake, my newest love affair and dessert superstar, sure to replace croissants and scones as my serve-with-coffee of choice

And, while cracking eggs into the olive oil cake, I discovered a secret inside egg #4. A second, perfectly formed egg, the size of a marble, tethered to the bigger egg’s yolk. I cracked its shell hoping there would be a wee little yolk inside, but it seems the one yolk was “feeding for two”. The whole thing was a bit creepy and a bit grotesque…at least, at first. But then, the longer I looked and the longer I turned the little shell in my palm, it shifted from monstrous to auspicious. When will I ever encounter an egg like this again?

Like the two twists to the penny rhyme: find a penny, pick it up, and all day long you’ll have good luck. Or, find a penny, let it lie and bad luck will pass you by.

Which version do you favour? Glass half-empty/ glass half-full, right? Today, I’m opting to believe in the Good Egg.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. foodandpassion permalink
    August 9, 2010 7:40 am

    Only good eggs.

  2. August 9, 2010 1:11 pm

    Love it. Working now, wish I was cracking eggs. I hope the olive oil cake was delicious!

  3. Rachel permalink
    August 9, 2010 4:11 pm

    This is crazy! I’ve never heard or seen anything like this, which is weird, cause there can be some freaky stuff that goes on with eggs.

    R

Leave a Reply

