Skip to content

At Last

May 31, 2011

Looking back through the 300+ entries to this site, it seems sleep (a lack thereof) and weather (a paucity of warm, a plethora of cold) are longstanding hot topics. I suppose this leaves me well positioned to age into being a crotchety old person cranking back and forth in a rocking chair while I crank on about exhaustion and endless winter. But, hopefully, there is at least a handful of years between today and that fate, years filled with days like the past week has been.

Days boasting cool bottles of tavel beading in the heat. Evenings capped with glasses of wine that can only be enjoyed after dipping a finger to catch the crumpled, bobbing gnat.

Years of retaining the flexibility to, after dropping a precious blob of cheesecake off the fork and onto the balcony, reach down, eat it off the boards, and then raise our toes to our own mouths and lick the last bit from our slightly filthy skin. Sure, gross, and definitely not the best table manners. But hey, if you can suck your own toe, why not? It’s summertime.

Days so hot that the fastest route to cool feet after a long bicycle ride uphill is a sink of icy water. Where is this ice? Already melted. By me.

And, mornings where 5 AM looks like this. Worth losing sleep over, if that’s the sky that greets me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 1:53 pm

    Your lovely post reminds me that I don’t understand rosé. I just don’t.

    Summerish is here in NYC. I am loving it. I went and bought a sunhat yesterday in anticipation of long walks and lazing. I hope you’ve gotten your (metaphorical) sunhat, too.

    • welltailored permalink*
      June 5, 2011 8:47 pm

      Ahhh if only I could visit you next week as originally planned, I would encourage you to rethink rose, or think about it less, and perhaps just dive into a glass of it and bob around till you get it after all. Crap, I wish I was making that trip…

  2. June 6, 2011 2:22 pm

    I wish you were too! All this means is that I will have to come up to Toronto as soon as I can.

    I have had rosé, don’t get me wrong, and enjoyed it, but never more than other things. I guess I just need some lessons.

    • welltailored permalink*
      June 6, 2011 5:48 pm

      I offer remedial rose in addition to beginner…heh

Leave a Reply

